1. Dwight Gooden of the New York Mets in 1985.

2. Rickey Henderson, with 33 stolen bases.

3. Peyton Manning and Tom Brady achieved the feat in 2007.

4. Frank Selvy averaged 41.7 points per game for Furman in 1953-54.

5. The Florida Panthers and Columbus Blue Jackets, with seven seasons each entering 2008-09.

6. Fernando Alonso was 24 when he won the season title in 2005.

7. It was 1981.

(c) 2008 King Features Synd. Inc.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.