Mount Si baseball players win honors at awards banquet

Members of the three teams that comprise Mount Si High School's baseball program were honored at a banquet Friday night, May 17.

Leading the list of honors for the varsity team this year are four KingCo 3A Conference honorable mentions for pitcher/infielder Nick Harpel, senior; pitcher/outfielder Bryce Kaestner, senior; infielder Jeremy Bess, senior; and pitcher/outfielder Alex Smart, sophomore.

Bess was named the team's most valuable player. Smart was named the team's best offensive player after posting a .413 batting average and leading the team in RBIs.

Freshman catcher Brandon Sales and senior outfielder Scott Johnson were named co-defensive players of the year.

Topping the list of junior-varsity honorees was sophomore pitcher Mike Lindor. Pitching for the JV this season, Lindor won the most games on the mound for Mount Si (4), pitched the most innings (25) and struck out the most hitters (27).

For that, Lindor was named the team's most valuable player by a vote of his teammates. The coach's award went to junior Nick Johnson.

The freshman team also was honored, and leading the list was Adam Dentz. Dentz was named by his teammates as the most valuable player after leading the team in RBIs (12), innings pitched (30.1) and strikeouts (55). Chris Brown won the coach's award.

Other players honored from the teams include - Varsity: Dan Baldwin, Jonas Bekins, Brandon Bumpus, G.C. Hillburn, Jordan Lettau, Nick Kirschner, Taylor McLellan, Bruce Opsal, Ian Opsal, Garrett Parsons and Josh Serrick.

JV: Curtis Dorr, Kyle Frink, Conrad Hausteveit, Evan Hillburn, Luke Landdeck, Jay Lewis, Toby Jones, Alec Sattler, Matty Secord, Nick Sheldon, Jason Smith and Alex VanOeveren.

Freshman: Zach Bowen, Wes Davis, Marc Donnell, Stefan Marth, Logan McMackin, Beau Stenford and Craig Weber.

Capping off the night, the Snoqualmie Valley Youth Hub made an awards presentation, giving plaques for the last three years' winners of the Dane Rempfer "Spirit of Hub" award. The winners were:

2000 - Varsity IF Jeremy Bess

2001 - Varsity P/OF Nick Harpel

2002 - Varsity OF/C G.C. Hillburn

These awards went to players who also actively participated in the Youth Hub basketball program.

The banquet represented the culmination of a mixed year on the field for Mount Si, but the program is already looking forward to next season.

With the varsity squad finishing at 7-13; junior varsity finishing 9-9 and freshman finishing 11-5, the lower levels of the program are holding their own.

As for varsity, Harpel summed it up this way: "The year went pretty well. I thought it could've been a little better, with all the weather we had. It was a tough year."

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.