Mount Si softball announces awards

Mount Si High School Softball Coach Larry White has announced the award winners for the girls' fastpitch softball team.

Sophomore pitcher Kandis Clesson took home the team's Most Valuable Player award. Juniors Kayla Jayne and Amy Trenkamp won Best Defensive and Offensive Player awards respectively, and sophomore Kali Walker picked up Most Improved Player honors.

Rounding out the awards, sophomore Sam Baldwin received the Best Teammate award, fellow sophomore Amy Whitney took home the Coaches Award and the Captains Awards were given to junior co-captains Trenkamp, Jayne, Emily White and Ashley Svarthumle.

Jayne and Clesson were named second-team All Kingco for their efforts this season, while Trenkamp, White, Svarthumle and fellow junior Erika Evans received honorable mentions.

Clesson and fellow sophomore Katie Morgan also have been invited to compete in a top national softball tournament for the best players from the class of 2006. The tournament, located in Honolulu, will be held over the winter holiday break and will feature 200 of the best class of 2006 players from the United States and Canada.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.