Home

Snoqualmie Valley Record

Back

It’s going to be all of us: Team dynamics of Mount Si boys soccer

March 24, 2014 · 9:34 AM
Comments

Aaron Baumgardner, senior center-mid and major force for Mount Si boys soccer this spring. / Seth Truscott/Staff Photo

The Mount Si boys soccer team is young this year, but has experience where it needs it. Among those with the most varsity time under their belts is center-midfielder Aaron Baumgardner, a multi-year starter who is Pacific Lutheran University-bound. A defensive player on his club team, Baumgardner does it all and expects to get up top.

“It’s definitely going to be more of a team this year,” predicts Baumgardner. There’s no one superstar, no single leader, so the whole team will need to have a vocal and physical presence—”It’s going to be all of us,” he says. “If we come out every game… if we’re in it together, we can do it.”

Junior Colton Oord, of the dreadlocked Oord soccer siblings—older brother Dylan was a Mount Si varsity force—is starting. Like Dylan, Colton is aggressive. A center-back player, he thrills in stopping opponents, and is hungry for a Kingco win.

Bruce Corrie is in the goalkeeper’s box. He’s gotten varsity game time over the last two seasons. Now, the job’s all his.

There’s also a brother act on this team. Senior Alex Dolewski and junior Nicholas are both club players, and it’s their first time on a team together.

“We’re both kind of wingers,” said Alex. “We both play to get the ball in and down the line as quickly as possible.”

Junior defender Connor Williams shares captain duties with Oord and Baumgardner. Other underclassmen to watch include junior defender Cameron Heimbigner and midfielder and sophomore Oliver Eriksen.

Another returner is speed-loving Lancelot Mahkosandile, who was out part of last season but likes to push along the sides.

Junior Bruce Corrie is Mount Si's goalkeeper

Colton Oord, left, is a junior team captain.

 

Mount Si boys soccer schedule

Thursday, March 20

• Mount Si hosts Bothell, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, March 21

• Mount Si at Juanita, 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 25

• Mount Si hosts Interlake, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, March 28

• Mount Si hosts Sammamish, 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 1

• Mount Si at Lake Washington, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, April 4

• Mount Si at Bellevue, 7:30 p.m.

Monday, April 7

• Mount Si hosts Mercer Island, 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, April 9

• Mount Si hosts Liberty, 7:30 p.m.

Monday, April 14

• Mount Si hosts Juanita, 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, April 16

• Mount Si at Interlake, 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 22

• Mount Si at Sammamish, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, April 25

• Mount Si hosts Lake Washington, 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 29

• Mount Si hosts Bellevue, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, May 2

• Mount Si at Mercer Island, 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, May 6

• Mount Si at Liberty, 7:30 p.m.

 

Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us