Sports

Exciting chances: Clayton Lacher, Christian MacMillan on Cedarcrest baseball

Clayton Lacher, left, Christian MacMillan, hold key roles on the Red Wolves baseball team. - Carol Ladwig/Staff Photo
Clayton Lacher, left, Christian MacMillan, hold key roles on the Red Wolves baseball team.
— image credit: Carol Ladwig/Staff Photo

They were in eighth grade the last (and first) time Cedarcrest High School's baseball team won a state championship, but seniors Clayton Lacher and Christian MacMillan still light up when talking about that win. They get even more excited thinking about their own chances at state, just a few weeks into the season.

"That would be so cool!" they agree.

Lacher, a first- and third-baseman, just loves baseball, playing all through high school, and most of his life. He also plays football, but, he says, "football is just to get ready for baseball."

MacMillan, at pitcher and catcher, has the same long career playing the game, because "My dad played semi-pro ball, so I'm always trying to one-up him!"

That plan hasn't worked out too well this year, since MacMillan needed shoulder surgery last fall, but he's optimistic for the future.

The team, MacMillan says, "is pretty solid all around."

Follow Cedarcrest baseball at http://www.chs.riverview.wednet.edu/Basketball/Baseball/baseballhomepage.html

 

Cedarcrest baseball schedule

Wednesday, March 13

• Cedarcrest at Granite Falls, 4 p.m.

Friday, March 15

• Cedarcrest hosts Granite Falls, 4 p.m.

Saturday, March 16

• Cedarcrest at Anacortes, noon

Monday, March 18

• Cedarcrest hosts Sultan, 4 p.m.

Wednesday, March 20

• Cedarcrest at Sultan, 4 p.m.

Friday, March 22

• Cedarcrest hosts Sultan, 4 p.m.

Monday, March 25

• Cedarcrest at Lakewood, 4 p.m.

Wednesday, March 27

• Cedarcrest hosts Lakewood, 4 p.m.

Friday, March 29

• Cedarcrest at Lakewood, 4 p.m.

Monday, April 1

• Cedarcrest hosts Coupeville, 1 and 4 p.m.

Wednesday, April 3

• Cedarcrest at Coupeville, 1 p.m.

Monday, April 8

• Cedarcrest at South Whidbey, 4 p.m.

Wednesday, April 10

• Cedarcrest hosts South Whidbey, 4 p.m.

Friday, April 12

• Cedarcrest at South Whidbey, 4 p.m.

Saturday, April 13

• Cedarcrest hosts Lynden, 1 p.m.

Monday, April 22

• Cedarcrest hosts Archbishop Murphy, 4 p.m.

Wednesday, April 24

• Cedarcrest at Archbishop Murphy, 4 p.m.

Friday, April 26

• Cedarcrest hosts Archbishop Murphy, 4 p.m.

Monday, April 29

• Cedarcrest at Granite Falls, 4 p.m.

 

 

 

 

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Dec 17
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.