Middle school girls track battles at Foothills finals

The seventh and eighth grade Snoqualmie Middle School girls’ track team competed in their final contest of the season last week, during the annual Foothills League Finals at Issaquah High School.

During the event, the top competitors from each event represented their school and battled it out on the field and the track.

Leading the way for the eighth grade team was Sophie Rockow, with a second place finish in the 100 meter race with a time of 13.3 seconds. That win gave her a new personal record and a number two spot on the all-time “Top Ten List” at SMS.

Fellow sprinter Annalise Sansburn ran to a fourth place finish in the 200 meter race with 29.9 seconds. Landon Edwards finished sixth in the hurdles and Rissy Past also finished sixth in the 400 meter race.

In the field events, Lexi Swanson captured third place with a leap of four feet, six inches. Following with a fourth place finish in the shot put and a new personal record was Kailey Vanslyke, who putted 25 feet, 1 1/2 inches. Rockow also picked up a fifth place in the long jump with a jump of 14 feet, three inches, earning another personal record for the day. Both the medley relay team and the 800 meter relay team ran to third place finishes. Team members were Rockow, Past, Haley Perrine and Sansburn on both relays.

Taking home ribbons in the seventh grade finals were Shannon Acker in the hurdles with a fourth place finish and Sierra Morin in the long jump, also with a fourth place finish. Both girls set personal records for themselves that day. In addition, the 800 meter relay team of Molly McElroy, Gina Heidel, Shannon Acker and Sierra Morin finished fourth.

The following day, the SMS track team held their awards party for the 2009 season. Awards in the eighth grade went to Sansburn for most inspirational and Angela Hontas for most improved. Seventh grade awards went to Shannon Acker for most inspirational, and Delaney Vargas for most improved. The coaches’ award went to Sierra Morin.

The sixth grade Lady Eagles were congratulated for an undefeated season and awards went to Savannah Morrison for most inspirational, Delaney Fulton for most improved, and the coaches’ award went to Alanna Hayes.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.