Snoqualmie Valley Record


Letters | Levies are critical for 
maintaining our schools

February 3, 2014 · 3:42 PM

As current and former members of the Snoqualmie Valley School District Board of Directors, we are united in our endorsement of the measures being placed before voters on the February ballot. Both Proposition No. 1, the Educational Programs and Operations Levy, and Proposition No. 2, the Technology Levy, will renew our investment to support basic education and technology in our schools.

The Snoqualmie Valley has great schools and is nationally recognized for providing quality education. These measures are critical to ensuring that we maintain our strong schools.

The Educational Programs and Operations Levy will renew a levy passed by voters in 2010 that is set to expire in 2014. It represents 24 percent of the district’s day-to-day operating budget. Washington state does not fully fund K-12 education, therefore, we must provide additional local funding to sustain basic education programs and services for students.

The Technology Levy will also renew an expiring levy and provide students and staff technology equipment, support, training, and additional learning opportunities in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math). This levy is imperative since Washington state does not fund technology in our schools.

School districts throughout the Puget Sound region are running similar levies at this time, as they are an indispensable element of school funding. These measures are essential to maintaining our excellent schools and staff. We’re fortunate our community understands this and has strongly supported our schools in past elections.

We urge you to join us in voting yes on both measures on the February 11 ballot.

Marci Busby, current board member

Tavish MacLean, current board member

Dan Popp, current board member

Carolyn Simpson, current board vice-president

Geoff Doy, current board president

Rudy Edwards, past board member

Scott Hodgins, past board member

Kim Horn, past board member

Craig Husa, past board member

Becky Jorgensen, past board member

Rick Krona, past board member

Caroline Loudenback, past board member

Dave Reed, past board member




Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us