Opinion

Metro bus changes postponed, what now? | Opinion

  • Oct 14, 2014 at 3:25PM

Even as a rare bus rider, I was pleased to see King County put the brakes on the second round of cuts to Metro bus service in February. We already had plenty of cuts last month. Following the defeat of Proposition 1 in April of this year, the County Executive had asked the County Council to approve legislation that would reduce Metro bus service by 550,000 hours between September 2014 and September 2015.

 

Community Events, October 2014

Add an Event

It’s question time for local candidates for public office, you can be a part

  • Oct 9, 2014 at 2:50PM

One of the best ways to measure up candidates for public office is to put them next to each other, fire a few questions their way and compare and contrast their answers. Seems like few organizations do this anymore, so it’s nice to see the Snoqualmie Valley Chamber of Commerce stepping up and hosting an election forum.

How to survive the next (big) earthquake | Opinion

  • Oct 2, 2014 at 9:00AM

I’ll be honest with you—I slept right through the magnitude 4.0 quake, centered on the Hood Canal about 45 miles west of here, last Wednesday, Sept. 17. My wife was up early, browsing her iPhone; she’s usually the one who tells me about these quakes, and all I can do is shrug. A heavy sleeper, I’ve slept through every minor tremblor in the past decade. The noise from that fatal plane crash on Mount Si failed to wake me.

What’s driving worth to you? Have your say on road tax changes

  • Sep 19, 2014 at 10:00AM

The other day, after much procrastination, we took the plunge and got a new car—not brand new, mind you, but new to us. That’s what counts, right? The new ride lacks the smooth ride of my old domestic sedan. A Nissan, it’s not plush, and there aren’t a lot of frills. But besides that great ‘new car smell,’ it’s got one good thing going for it—it costs about $29 to fill up. I love that fuel economy, and that was single biggest reason to get it.

  • EMAIL NEWSLETTERS

    Latest news, top stories, and community events, delivered to your inbox.

Demystify the process of government: Join the Snoqualmie Citizens Academy

  • Sep 3, 2014 at 11:30AM

Have you ever really thought about how your city works? Where it gets its revenues? How it spends them? Who runs the city, who keeps your streets safe and water flowing? If you’ve ever been mystified by the process of government, prepare to be demystified.

More Opinion

Read the latest Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Oct 15 edition online now. Browse the archives.