Opinion

OPINION: KCLS supports citizen engagement year-round

Voter resources available at area libraries.

  • Nov 9, 2018

 

OPINION: Detox for your body and mind

Dr. Allison Apfelbaum is a naturopathic primary care doctor in Woodinville.

  • Nov 9, 2018

 

Marknisha Hervol, an eighth grader at Environmental & Adventure School in Kirkland, gets her book signed by Fredi Lajvardi during his appearance at the Peter Kirk Community Center. Samantha Pak/staff photo

OPINION: What happens when we believe | Windows and Mirrors

How an unlikely group of teenagers achieved success through the support of their community.

 

Letters to the Editor, Oct. 26, 2018

District 8; climate change

  • Oct 26, 2018

Letters to the Editor, Oct. 19, 2018

Carbon tax; gun laws; District 8

  • Oct 19, 2018

Letters to the Editor, Oct. 12, 2018

District 8 race opinions; Criticism of President

  • Oct 12, 2018

When we ban books | Windows and Mirrors

What message does it send when certain stories are censored?

Despite paid postage, ballots still come late

Even with the postage paid, thousands of Washington voters didn’t get their ballots in on time for the August primary. Collectively, auditors rejected 17,167 ballots… Continue reading

  • Sep 24, 2018

Rumbling and rambling on the way to November | The Petri Dish

Republicans have to worry about Trump. Meanwhile, big money is flowing into initiative campaigns.

  • Aug 25, 2018

It’s time for back to school and back to basics for recycling

With a little help from the “Three Rs,” we can reduce the environmental impact of back-to-school shopping.

The default in our own stories | Editorial

Senior editor Samantha Pak reflects on what representation in media means to her.

No excuse for fake news rhetoric | Editorial

Journalists are being tossed into the anti-media waters being chummed by President Trump and others.

  • Aug 16, 2018

Just add water | Editorial

Since 1913, the Valley Record has been one of the threads that bind this Valley together.

Pak headshot

Freedom to feel safe | Reporter’s Desk

Let’s not forget that July 4 is a day that celebrates the freedoms we have in this country.

Pak headshot

Summer — and summer reading — is finally here | Book Nook

The theme this year, Libraries Rock, includes a line‐up of programs and activities for all.

  • Jun 25, 2018

State Dems may abandon caucus chaos in time for 2020

Washington also is considering becoming more significant by moving its primary to early March.

  • Jun 21, 2018

Taking the guess work out of recycling | Guest Column

Waste Management Recycle Corps working with local businesses, residents this summer.

Signature of registered voter is a coveted commodity

The competitive nature of the initiative and referendum season now peaking in Washington.

  • Jun 7, 2018
Photo by Matt Phelps

President, governor or retirement — only Inslee knows his plan

What we do know is that he’s off to Iowa in June to deliver the keynote address at a party fundraiser.

Photo by Matt Phelps

Growth, knowledge, learning at your library | Book Nook

Spring is the time of year when many of us focus on growth and renewal, reinvigorated to cultivate our interests or explore new ones. Last… Continue reading

  • May 18, 2018