Valley election slate set

SNOQUALMIE VALLEY - The addition of Snoqualmie Ridge and its more than 800 families to the city of Snoqualmie is making an impact on local elections, as three Ridge residents recently announced their intentions to earn a seat on the City Council.

Matt Larson, Greg Fullington and Jay R. Rodne are seeking to oust Snoqualmie City Council incumbents Colleen Johnson, Frank Lonergan and Cathy (Runkle) Reed, respectively. The three current council members last week declared their intentions to run for re-election.

People in the Snoqualmie Valley and throughout King County had last week, July 23-27, to register with the King County Records and Elections Division to be a candidate in a slew of races to be decided by voters this fall.

In North Bend, two council members up for re-election, Jim Gildersleeve and Fred Rappin, will not seek additional terms in office. Instead, Jack A. Webber, husband of Councilwoman Elaine Webber, is running unopposed for Gildersleeve's position, and Bill Wittress faces no challengers in replacing Rappin.

In addition to the Snoqualmie and North Bend city council contests, other notable races include a Snoqualmie Valley School District board member, Kristy Sullivan, vying to replace Metropolitan King County Councilwoman Louise Miller and a former Carnation mayor, Dave Hunter, seeking a seat among the Riverview School District board of directors.

Many of the races in Snoqualmie Valley involve two or fewer candidates for election. Other positions for which there are more than two candidates will be whittled down with the help of a Sept. 18 primary election. That primary, thanks to a recent federal judge's decision, will follow the same rules as in years past, with voters able to cast ballots for candidates of any political party.

Also on the Sept. 18 ballot will be a $3.56 million bond measure to help the city of North Bend buy a portion of the Tollgate Farm property and a $324,000 levy to keep police services at their same level in Carnation.

The general election will be held Nov. 6.

Most of the races are non-partisan. The list of the candidate filings is as follows:

North Bend

Council Position 2, four-year term - Jack A. Webber; Council Position 4, four years N Bill Wittress


Mayor, four years - Randy "Fuzzy" Fletcher (incumbent); Council Position 1, four years - Colleen M. Johnson (incumbent), Matt Larson; Council Position 3, four years - Greg Fullington, Frank Lonergan (incumbent); Council Position 5, four years - Cathy (Runkle) Reed (incumbent), Jay R. Rodne


Council Position 2, four years - Laurie L. Clinton (incumbent); Council Position 4 - Joan Sharp (incumbent)


Mayor, four years - Glen Kuntz (incumbent), Becky Nixon; Council Position 1, four years - Tom Loutsis (incumbent); Council Position 3, four years - Will Ilbershof, Diane Salz; Council Position 5, four years - Patricia Fullmer (incumbent)

Snoqualmie Valley School District No. 410

District Director 1, four years - Rudolph (Rudy) Edwards (incumbent); District Director 4, four years - Rebekah L. Jorgensen (incumbent)

Riverview School District No. 407

District Director 1, four years - Dave Hunter, Lori Oviatt; District Director 5, four years - Roberts V. Brown, Bob Decker (incumbent)

Metropolitan King County Council

Council District 3, four years, Kristy Sullivan, Democrat, Kathy Lambert, Republican

King County

Executive, four years - Ron Sims, Democrat (incumbent), Santos Contreras, Republican, Alan Lobdell, Republican; Sheriff, Dave Reichert (incumbent)

Fire Protection District 27

Commissioner Position 2, six years - Tommie L. Brice, Jim Needham; Commissioner Position 3, unexpired, two-year term - Kevin J. Hauglie

Fire Protection District 38

Commissioner Position 2, six years - Steve Parsons, Jack M. Quilin

Snoqualmie Pass Fire Protection District 51

Commissioner Position 1, six years N no candidates filed

Water District 123

Commissioner Position 1, unexpired, four-year term - Steven R. Carlson; Commissioner Position 2, six years N Roger D. Armstrong; Commissioner Position 3, unexpired, two-year term - no candidates filed

Fall City Water District

Commissioner Position 2, six years - Mike Tawney, Lyn Watts

Snoqualmie Pass Utility District

Commissioner Position 1, six years - David E. Black

Public Hospital District 4

Commissioner Districct 2, six years - Dick Edward Jones; Commissioner Position 4, six years - Carol Hoch, Julie Ostergard

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.