- About Us
- Local Savings
- Green Editions
- Legal Notices
- Weekly Ads
Connect with Us
Know the rules: Eastside firefighters will patrol to ensure safe fireworks use
The annual celebration of our nation's independence is rapidly approaching. Eastside Fire & Rescue reminds Valley residents of local laws on fireworks, asking people to celebrate safely.
North Bend and unincorporated King County allow the use of fireworks only on Thursday, July 4. Using fireworks before or after the Fourth is not allowed. Where fireworks are allowed, only Consumer (1.4G) grade are allowed. Other fireworks available in the region, such as firecrackers and bottle rockets, are not legal in Washington. Some fireworks available in the region such as M-80s, Cherry Bombs, Tennis Ball Bombs, and altered fireworks violate both federal and state law. For information on legal and illegal fireworks go to: http://www.wsp.wa.gov/fire/docs/fireworks/device.pdf.
Eastside Fire & Rescue will be increasing patrols within its service area to seek compliance with bans in Carnation, Issaquah, and Sammamish. Patrols will be conducted in the rest of EF&R to contact and provide education to those that may be using illegal fireworks.
Firefighters encourage Valley residents to attend one of the public fireworks displays in the area on July 4. Both the cities of Sammamish and Carnation host public displays, as well as some of other cities to the west, such as Bellevue. Information can be found at: http://www.wsp.wa.gov/fire/docs/fireworks/fireshow.pdf.
• Only common fireworks are legal within the City of North Bend, and may only be discharged between 9:00 a.m. and 12:00 midnight on July 4.
• It is unlawful to sell fireworks to any persons under the age of 16 years. The seller shall require proof of age by means of display of a Washington State Driver's License or photo identification card issued by the Washington State Department of Licensing. No other form of identification shall be accepted.
• The sale of any fireworks prior to noon on June 28 or after 11 p.m. on July 4 of each year is prohibited, except where otherwise provided in this chapter.
• The possession, use or discharge of any fireworks are prohibited at all times, except between 9 a.m. and midnight on July 4 each year, except where otherwise provided in this chapter.
• Fireworks may be discharged from 9 a.m. to 12 a.m. (midnight) on July 4, which is a longer time span than in years past. The City of Snoqualmie is standardizing the time to be the same as the City of North Bend to make policing easier. Disregard of this law may result in confiscation of the fireworks and a civil infraction fine of $124.
• No fireworks may be possessed or discharged in any public park. Disregard of this law may result in confiscation of the fireworks and a civil infraction fine of $124.
• By state law, fireworks sales are limited to people age 16 and older. Sellers must require proof of age with a driver’s license or photo identification card issued by a school or government.
• Only legal devices may be used. Use of illegal explosive devices can bring a fine of up to $5,000 and/or one year in prison. If you purchase fireworks for the holiday, be sure you are getting legal fireworks by purchasing them from state-licensed stands. Fire crackers, bottle rockets, missiles, and rockets are legal for sale on tribal lands, but become illegal when taken off the tribal reservation.
Unincorporated King County
• Fireworks may be discharged only from 9:00 a.m. to midnight on July 4.
• Fireworks sales are legal beginning at noon on June 28 until 11:00 p.m. and then daily between 9:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m. through July 4. No sales can occur after July 4.
• To purchase fireworks you must be at least 16 years of age with picture identification.
For additional information contact the Fire Prevention Bureau at (425) 313-3200.