Valley Election 2013: Lots of races, board members vs. board members

A four-way race for a school board seat and a three-way race for Snoqualmie City Council have developed at the close of the candidate filing period at King County Elections.

Four candidates, two of them incumbents, have filed for Position 4 on the Snoqualmie Valley School Board. Both Marci Busby and G. Scott Hodgins were located in director district 4 after the school district redrew its director district boundary lines last summer. Prior to the U.S. Census and the redistricting that resulted from it, Hodgins had been in director district 1.

Two North Bend men, Stephen Kangas and David Spring have also filed to run for Position 4, while only one candidate, Tavish MacLean of Snoqualmie, has filed for Position 1.

Snoqualmie's City Council has five expiring terms this year, and incumbent councilwoman Maria Henriksen's decision to withdraw from candidacy this spring has created an opening that three challengers, Heather Munden, Terry Sorenson, and Darryl Wright, all hope to win.

An August primary ballot will include both the school board Position 4 candidates and the Snoqualmie City Council Position 5 candidates. The top two vote-getters in each race will make the November ballot, although the other candidates will still be able to run as write-ins.

Snoqualmie Mayor Matt Larson is the only City Council incumbent to face opposition in November. Ed Pizzuto has also filed his candidacy for Mayor. Councilmen Bob Jeans, Position 1, Bryan Holloway, Position 3, and Kathi Prewitt, Position 7 are each unopposed.

Other Valley cities fielded almost no challengers. In North Bend, incumbents Alan Gothelf, Position 2, Ross Loudenback, Position 4 and Jeanne Pettersen, Position 6 are the sole candidates for their City Council seats, and in Carnation, Jim Berger has filed for re-election to Position 1 on the City Council, and Kim Lisk has filed for incumbent Mike Flowers' Position 4. Flowers has not filed for re-election.

An unusual race is developing in the Snoqualmie Valley Hospital board, though. Incumbent Dick Jones is being challenged by Dariel Norris, and incumbent Kevin Hauglie will be challenged by Gene Pollard, a current hospital board member, elected in 2011 following a close race that triggered an automatic recount of votes.

In the Riverview School District, both school board incumbents Lori Oviatt, Position 1, and Greg Bawden, Position 5, have filed for re-election.

Fall City Metro Parks Commissioners Perry Wilkins and Lori Watts have filed for re-election, unopposed, as have Si View Metro Parks Commissioners Linda Grez and Mark Joselyn. Lyn Watts is also unopposed in the Fall City Water District.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.