Challengers line up for Snoqualmie, school board races

Incumbents are largely unopposed in the Snoqualmie Valley in the fall 2011 round of elections, with the distinct exceptions of the city of Snoqualmie and the Snoqualmie Valley School Board. When the candidate filing period closed Friday, June 10, all but one position on the ballot for Snoqualmie City Council will be contested, and all Snoqualmie Valley School Board members face competition for their seats.

In Snoqualmie, incumbent Jeff MacNichols will run against Microsoft contractor Kevin Ostrem for Position 2 on the city council, and Kingston A. Wall will face former council member Terry Sorenson for his Position 4. Charles Peterson is unopposed in his bid for Position 6.

In school board races, each incumbent has a challenger. Caroline Loudenback will run against North Bend community activist Geoff Doy for the District 2 seat. Craig Husa will face Carolyn Simpson, a parent who recently challenged the board’s district realignment plan, in the race for the District 3 seat. For District 5, sitting board president Dan Popp will run against Peggy Johnson, a parent who has criticized the district’s handling of bullying incidents in the past.

Only one other seat in the Valley will be contested, the seat vacated by North Bend Councilmember Chris Garcia at the end of his term in December. Both Piper M. Muoio, a city planning commissioner, and former council candidate Ryan Kolodejchuk have filed for Position 7 on the council. Council imcumbents have each filed for re-election to their seats and are unopposed. The North Bend positions on the November ballot and their incumbents are: Mayor, Ken Hearing; Position 1, Jonathan Rosen; Position 3, Dee Williamson; Position 5, David Cook; and Position 6, Jeanne Pettersen.

Two incumbents in Carnation, Fred Bereswill, Position 1, and Mayor Lee Grumman, Position 3, have filed for re-election, and city planning commissioner Erin Chamberlain has filed for Position 5, which will be vacated in December by current councilmember Stuart Lisk.

Riverview School District incumbents Carol Van Noy, District 3, and Danny Edwards, District 4, have both filed for their seats again. Woodinville resident Jodi Fletcher has filed for the District 2 seat; director Dan Pflugrath has decided not to run again.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.