Snoqualmie Valley Record


Cedarcrest science students shine at regional competition

April 10, 2013 · Updated 11:01 AM

Jeffery Wehr, a science teacher at Cedarcrest, with Thor Wehr and Isaac Harper, who advanced from the Central Sound Regional Science and Engineering Fair to compete in May at the Intel international competition in Phoenix. / Courtesy photo

At the March 9 Central Sound Regional Science and Engineering Fair, 18 Cedarcrest High School students earned special recognition, and two of them won trips to compete internationally.

Isaac Harper and Thor Wehr both won Overall Grand Prizes at the event, which include trips to compete at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair, May 12 through 17 in Phoenix.

Harper’s project, "Enhancing the Maturation of Human Pluripotent Stem-Cell Derived Cardiomyocytes by Triiodothryonine Treatment and Nanopatterned Substrates," won a blue ribbon in the cellular/molecular biology category and received the U.S. Army Award.

Wehr worked on "Focusing Sound Waves Using a Two- Dimensional Nonlinear Acoustic Lens: Phase II," and picked up the top prize in the physics/astronomy category, the U.S. Army Award, and the U.S. Metric Association Award.

Another Cedarcrest student, Emily Harrison, received a blue ribbon for a project she created in partnership with Hannah Henrikson. "The Effect of Candles on Relaxation" was the best in the medicine/health services category, and won the People’s Choice Award.

Students who received second-place ribbons included: Sophia Romanelli in medicine/health services; Misia Zilinsky, earth/planetary sciences and the Association for Women Geoscientists Award, Brian McClintic, environmental sciences, ACS Chemistry Award and Stockholm Junior Water Prize; Delana Mooney, behavioral/social science; and Caitlin Brenner, physics/astronomy, U.S. Army Award.

Placing third in the competition were: Connor Barrett, physics/astronomy, Aeronautics Award; Anjani Patel, biochemistry, U.S. Navy Award, NOAA Award and Stockholm Junior Water Prize; Andy Staples,computer science.

Honorable mentions went to: Amber Robinson, medicine/health sciences; Emma Abraham, physics/astronomy, Aeronautics Award, U.S. Air Force Award; Piper Cramer, medicine/health sciences; Haily Ho, physics/astronomy; Mike Powers, behavioral/social science; Stephanie Dewar, engineering (electrical/mechanical); and Kira Pattinson, physics/astronomy, U.S. Army Award.  Sean Dempsy won a U.S. Air Force Award, Ryan Tracy won a U.S. Navy Award, and Noah Coats won an Aeronautics Award.



Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us